top of page

Scandium 'Fastrax' Race Bike Build (2)

Updated: Oct 4, 2022

The Canvas

As mentioned before, this particular build originally had only:

- a frame, 56 cm made of Scandium (1.200 grams)

- a carbon fork (and headset)

- a 25.4 stem, 120 mm in length, and a Bontrager flat top racing bar (26 mm clamp)

- front and rear caliper, Ultegra R8000 brakes

- seat post 31.6mm Kalloy UNO

- old Shimano RS010 wheelset

and nothing else.

The Plan: A light but affordable Road Race Bike

When talking about a light bike, the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) could come to mind. Even though light bikes are technically possible with the advance of materials like carbon, very light bikes are technically possible, the world governing body of cycling set a minimum weight for their sanctioned road races for bikes at 6.8 kg.

Due to my advanced age, I had no plans to attend these races and with a budget in mind, there was no way I would come close to this weight limit anyway. There are lighter-weight alternatives to the parts I've used, but they come at very, and sometimes very, very steep prices. My goal was to balance my budget and my weight, so attention to both details was important. I have to admit, that I was very satisfied with the final result.

This build took place during the worldwide Corona crisis; many parts were not widely available and therefore difficult and only available at higher suggested retail prices. Shimano as the world's largest supplier of bike parts faced serious production and delivery problems due to high demand and limited production capabilities. Especially the sourcing of Shimano's 105 Dual Control Levers (ST-R 7000) gave me some headaches even in bike parts paradise Taiwan.

Below, I will list the parts I've used for my build, the decision because I used them, their characteristics, and the price.


Handlebar, Deda RHM 02

Contrary to the bike picture above, I've decided against my old 44 cm wide Bontrager flat top handlebar with a 26 mm clamp diameter. I could not find a stem of the desired length...

I went to the parts bin and opted for a slightly narrower and more aerodynamic Deda RHM 02, 42 cm (outer - outer) handlebars. It has a kind of rough (raw) shiny black finish with bright red/white 'team color' graphics.


Stem

Deda's RHM (Hand Rapid Movement) let me decide on a longer stem to compensate for the shorter reach. I've used a white painted Kally Stem in 130mm, difficult to get in Taiwan.

The result of this handlebar-stem combination let me feel more agile on the bike, and my neck pain disappeared on rides over 100 kilometers...


Wheelset

I bought a handmade wheelset, made with Kin Lin XR-240 rims, Bitex hubs, and Pillar 1432 spokes, made and hand-assembled in Taiwan. The wheels were lighter, stronger, and had better bearings than my previous Shimano wheels. Please see my review.


Brakes/Shifting

Are all based on the mechanical Shimano 105 R7000 components with some exceptions:


- Caliper Brake: Ultegra R8000

Instead of the lower-priced painted Shimano 105 caliper brakes I've opted for the anodized Ultegra (R8000) rim brakes. Both caliper brakes look like the same design except for the finish. But upon further inspection, there is an additional bridge between the brake arms on the R8000 rim brakes which let the braking feel a notch more direct and stronger.

The reach of the STI levers of Shimano 105 and Ultegra are identical, the caliper brakes are compatible.


- Rear cassette: SunRace CS-RX1

I chose the SunRace CS-RX1 rear cassette over the Shimano R7000 counterpart because of the following reasons:

Construction: The three largest sprockets are riveted on a bright red alloy spider; the other sprockets are single disks.

Finish: The sprockets have a smoother finish that the R7000 cassette

Weight: The construction of the riveted sprockets on the spider makes for lighter weight and more stiffness.

Price: Both rear cassettes cost the same in Taiwan

Because of construction, finish, and weight, the SunRace CS-RX1 is clearly the better offer.


Continue to Part 3 of this build


I have to say that I re-discovered the joy of cycling with this bike, what more is there to praise?


Ride carefully, Gerhard



A Word of Caution

Always ride with a helmet and in a way that you are in control of the bike and not the other way around. Ride responsibly and defensively, and be prepared for a worst-case scenario! It is senseless to gain some seconds but spends weeks recovering in a hospital and/or at home for a stupid action! You, your body, your parents, your family, and your friends will surely appreciate your precautions before, during, and after a bike ride.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scandium 'Fastrax' Race Bike Build (3)

Continued from the 2nd part of the build Reality Check For the complete build, I spent around ~US$ 895.00; the race-ready bike (incl. two bottle cages and clipless pedals) weighed in at a reasonable 8

bottom of page