top of page

Scandium 'Fastrax' Race Bike Build (3)

Updated: May 26, 2023

Continued from the 2nd part of the build


Reality Check

For the complete build, I spent around ~US$ 895.00; the race-ready bike (incl. two bottle cages and clipless pedals) weighed in at a reasonable 8.3 kgs.

-In the current parts and bike crisis, this price for a total Shimano 105 bike is a clear steal

-In the world of carbon bikes, the weight of alloy bikes seems very heavy. But comparing it with the Specialized Allez Alloy bike, it is competitive. The below bike was ridden by Peter Sagan at the Tour Down Under in 2019 and weighed in at 8.0kgs. - in an out-of-my-price-and-parts-are-no-subject league. Please watch the video.

Real World

I am more of a loner when it comes to cycling, this is a result of unreliable companions and the disease of comparing bikes and equipment here in Taiwan. As I have built my bike, I am, of course, able to keep it running in case of mishaps. I have my inner tubes with me and can replace them with the tools I am taking with me. I can inflate my tires with the mini pump on my bike.

Accidently, I joined a bike challenge with my Scandium race bike. Even with my age of 60 years, I was quite surprised, that I could compete with riders half of my age on carbon bikes costing more than10 times this basic but racy Scandium built. This discovery opened my mind to the question if it is really necessary to spend this much money, time, and effort on the latest equipment or rather on own fitness, handling skills, and race tactics.

Bicycles and parts for professionals on TV are developed for real racers on closed roads and circuits. It is the team's and rider's job to squeeze out every bit of performance and the industry has to and wants to deliver! But the quantity of pros is very limited and following them blindly is contrary to our rider's interests.

For the price of the current top-of-the-line bikes with the latest technologies you can almost buy a small car or a motorcycle. Bike manufacturers already stop offering simple caliper brakes in favor of hydraulic disc brakes, and hopefully, the parts suppliers do not phase out cable-activated shifting in favor of electronic shifting.


Verdict

I am quite satisfied with the final build and very happy with my finished bike! I rode it for several hundred kilometers, the shorter wheelbase with the narrow handlebar makes for a lively but surprisingly, very stable ride.

The 1.200 grams light Scandium frame in 56 cm made for a light and stable base; the hand-assembled wheelset wrapped with Continental GP 5000 clinchers over latex tubes make this an agile and smooth ride. It was the right decision to upgrade from the Shimano Sora (R3000) 9-speed to the mechanical 105 (R7000) 11-speed groupset. Each shift is more predictable and very precise, in fact, I never missed a shift! The braking with caliper brakes is reliable and strong, and the cables and brakes are simple to set up, maintain and replace.

It is difficult to upgrade such a nice bike with better parts for an improved ride without breaking the bank.


Ride carefully, Gerhard



A Word of Caution

Always ride with a helmet and in a way that you are in control of the bike and not the other way around. Ride responsibly and defensively, and be prepared for a worst-case scenario! It is senseless to gain some seconds but spends weeks recovering in a hospital and/or at home for a stupid action! You, your body, your parents, your family, and your friends will surely appreciate your precautions before, during, and after a bike ride.


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page