top of page

My 'Italian Style' new Bike Built (2)

Updated: Mar 14, 2022

My New Ride

Some months ago I 'accidentally' discovered a Reynolds 853 steel frame with carbon rear stays and a full carbon fork as a NOS (New Old Stock) in red with some white accents. After some bargaining, I've bought this frame off a website and but let it first sit for a while.

The beautiful red/white color scheme is original and one of the main reasons for its purchase. The main red color reminded me of a famed Italian motorcycle company in Bologna or a famous sports car manufacturer based in Maranello, a city in the same country. The white color blocks made a nice contrast and add a 'nostalgic' feel to it. Every bike has a name, my daughter calls it after a popular American cigarette brand...


Wheelset

Out of curiosity, I've purchased some basic Campagnolo Khamsin G3 with a compatible Shimano 11-speed freehub. The black paint with the silver machined brake surface looks great! On these wheels I mounted my tried and true folding Continentals GP5000 (handmade in Germany), 700*25c tires, and matched with Tube Race 28 from the same brand.


Steering (3T)

To stay with the Italian theme I used the handlebar and stem from 3T, wrapped with red Velo bar tape. I used a 3T ARX II PRO alloy stem (120mm) )in black with white graphics, the handlebar is a 3T Tornova in Alloy (440mm) in the same color combination as the stem. First I wrapped the bar with a red Taiwanese VELO WRAP GEL bar tape but later changed it to black.

Braking/Shifting

As mentioned I've used a nearly complete Shimano 105 (R7000) groupset from Dual Control Levers, brake caliper, front & long rear derailleur, 11-32 cassette.

Instead of the 'racy' R7000 I've opted for an alternative Shimano RS500 50x34T crankset in the length of 175 mm. The classic shiny black paint matches not only the Shimano caliper brakes, rear derailleur but also the Campagnolo Khamsin wheels very nicely. A golden chain brought up the color of the drivetrain and the frame.

Saddle

To keep with the Italian flavor I've opted for a Taiwan-made Prologo Kappa Evo Pas in matte black with bright black graphics. The saddle sits on a cheap and light no-name carbon seat post. When I mounted the post in the frame, the clear lacquer came off. I pained it in black but did not quite succeed. So I sanded down all of the paint and just polished and waxed it. It came out great...


Weight

The complete bike without pedals and bottle cage is 8.8kgs in total! For a 58cm bike a quite respectable weight!


Ride carefully,


Gerhard



A Word of Caution

Always ride with a helmet and in a way that you are in control of the bike and not the other way around. Ride responsibly and defensively, be prepared for a worst-case scenario! It is senseless to gain some seconds but spends weeks to recover in a hospital and/or at home for a stupid action! You, your body, your parents, your family, and friends will surely appreciate your precautions before, during, and after a bike ride.

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scandium 'Fastrax' Race Bike Build (3)

Continued from the 2nd part of the build Reality Check For the complete build, I spent around ~US$ 895.00; the race-ready bike (incl. two bottle cages and clipless pedals) weighed in at a reasonable 8

bottom of page