top of page

Continental Grand Prix 5000 Clincher Review

Updated: Dec 24, 2020

After my introduction of the GP 5000 tires, several months have already passed. During this time I've mounted them together with the Continental inner tubes (see below) and rode several hundred kilometers on different roads under several weather conditions. Here I want to share some of my experiences as a mechanic and rider.


Reason

For my 'Italian Style road bike built', I bought a pair of Continental GP 5000 tires. They have only been introduced by the German manufacturer a few months ago, replacing the GP 4000s which were built for several years. I thought that this new bike should deserve a pair of new tires incorporating the latest technologies.

Inner Tube

For the first time in my nearly 60 years old life, I've indeed invested in original Continental Race Presta 42mm inner tubes. At home, I've made the disappointing 'Made in China' discovery... But they are keeping the air much longer than their Taiwan-made counterparts which I attribute rather to the higher quality of the French or Presta valve than to the quality of the rubber itself.


Montage

The Continental Grand Prix 5000 tires were easier to mount than the Panaracer Race A & L Evo 3 road tires. After some initial force with two levers they 'fell' right into the proper place on my Campagnolo Khamsin rims. After 3 months and around 2.000kms on various Taiwanese road surfaces, I did not have a puncture so far. Therefore I can't tell anything about the montage after the initial stretch of these tires for the 2nd time...


Ride Quality

Continental is the official partner of the Tour de France between 2018 and 2022 and I've expected top quality from these tires and was not disappointed.

Mounted on my Campagnolo Khamsin wheels (15mm internal width) the 25c tires measure 26.8mm mounted on the rim. The combination of the tire, the inner tube, the wheels, and the Reynolds 825 frame with carbon stays all contribute to a very firm but noticeably plushier ride than on my alloy framed road bike.

Due to the slightly wider tires, riding on straight roads and while cornering is a steady and predictable dream on dry and even wet roads. Previously, I've had a least one puncture every two weeks on neglected Taiwanese roads; since mounting them, I had to believe the claimed increased puncture protection. My tire levers, the spare tubes, and the frame pump are all collecting dust...

The confidence in these tires let me increase my speed on flats and during cornering, they are responsive and very predictable. Continental claims the GP5000s are allrounders and therefore not racing tires, but for my Amateur level of speed, they are more than capable and, due to the protection, reliable. Pure racing tires, like Continental's own Grand Prix TT, might be split-seconds faster but come with the disadvantage of a shorter lifespan and are less protected.


Conclusion

These are the best tires I have ever owned in my life; they are tough, reliable, and reasonable light. This all-rounder can compete with some of the fastest tires out there but is much more robust. I like them so much that I mounted Continental GP5000s (23mm) on the front after my Panaracer tire blew up with the inner tire on a straight road at around 40 km/hour.

Some riders might think that the price is on the higher side. The comparable but disappointing and delicate Vittoria CORSA G+ Folding Tire (1st Generation) tires made in Thailand cost about the same here in Taiwan.


Plus:

- reasonable priced

- easy to mount

- robust

- low rolling resistance

- lightweight

- consistent high quality (handmade in Germany)


Negative:

- non so far


Ride carefully,

Gerhard


A Word of Caution

Always ride with a helmet and in a way that you are in control of the bike and not the other way around. Ride responsibly and defensively, be prepared for a worst-case scenario! It is senseless to gain some seconds but spends weeks to recover in a hospital and/or at home for a stupid action! You, your body, your parents, your family, and friends will surely appreciate your precautions before, during, and after a bike ride.

50 views0 comments
bottom of page