top of page

My 'Italian Style' new Bike Built (1)

Updated: Mar 14, 2022

Bonjorno, welcome to my homepage!


End of the Year


The year 2020 comes slowly to an end, and what year it was!


Not many people understood the meaning of a 'pandemic' only until before it affected their own life. With the 'China Virus' or 'COVID-19', the world stumbled into an unprecedented situation. This left a certain American president not only confused but in stubborn denial of scientific expertise, covering his inability by smearing campaigns discrediting scientists blaming everyone else but himself. He would rather fight a selfish life with the media than concentrate on his job as a leader and should - lead! His stubborn refusal to set an example by wearing a simple surgical mask contributed to the death of nearly 300.000 US-Americans, at the time I am writing this article.


Bike racing like all other sports came to a halt around the Spring of 2020, leaving the UCI and the organizers busily rescheduling the race calendar for the rest of the year. The teams had to come up with solutions to keep the riders and the sponsors happy while not knowing if and when they could continue 'as usual. Some sponsors will withdraw at the end of the year, leaving some teams to unfold and riders without a contract for 2021. Several riders could not find a new team had to retire. After watching two of the three Grand Tours and some of the Spring Classics in autumn, I stopped watching for a while. Some days with 3 (!) different races was just too much TV coverage for me.


Like each year, each printed and digital bike publications present their own 'Bike of the Year'. As most companies are sponsored by big brands or 'may earn an affiliate commission', it leaves me wondering how biased these roundups are. To cover every niche of the market and mention every manufacturer, the 'Bike of the Year' categories include the following road bikes: performance, endurance, aero, gravel (road bike?), and, as the pinnacle, the 'superbike' of the year.

The overall 'superbike' winner is, of course, based on a very light carbon aero frame, deep aero carbon wheels with CeramicSpeed bearings, the drivetrain is the SRAM’s AXS wireless pinnacle with an accompanying app for your smartphone, etc. The article closes with ..."If ever a £9,750 bike could be described as ‘value for money, this might be it." (original words by the publication). Wow...


Tests or reviews like these are showing the technical possibilities and are, of course, meant to spark interest and push the sale of these bikes. But not only sponsor-free and part-time bikers should read these articles in a different light. For me, as a nearly 60-year-old family father, riding a bicycle is one of the sports my doctor recommended after a hip replacement. I am no more that young that I would need the lightest frame available to shave off some seconds. For others whom I love, like my wife and daughter, I do not need a disk brake for braking later, I have enough time to shift with a simple cable and, as a result, don't have to think about charging the batteries of my derailleurs before a ride.


Technical advancements

Don't get me wrong, I am a firm believer in technological advancements, admire today's technical possibilities in, for example, cars unknown only a few years ago. Our Nissan Tiida has a 'Blind Spot Warning', a flashing light and sound that keep us safe from running into scooters before changing lanes. It has an 'intelligent' rear camera with graphics and beeping sound for scratch-free backward parking. These are is amazing and appreciated technologies for such a cheap and small car...

But - over the years I've assembled many bikes for me and my family. Before jumping on the bandwagon to buy every newly available technology, I first take my time and try to figure out, what I want to do with the build and subsequently what parts I really (!) need for it. I like my racing road bikes for their efficiency. But the discomfort of the saddle and the narrow tires, the riding position, the clipless pedals I am using, and the absence of a rear carrier are very annoying in the city. But, given the choice of a racing and city bike, I would not use this mountain bike converted city bike on a training ride.


Passione

While still riding on my light Scandium Alloy frame (55cm = 1.2kgs) bike, I've fancied building something more long-lasting and comfortable with a hint of art for the future. Instead of going with a popular matte black carbon frame, I would like to build something to honor the Italian masters like Ernesto Colnago, Cino Cinelli, Faliero Masi, etc. and pay tribute to the Italian parts makers like Tullio Campagnolo or Mario Dedioniggi, founder of 3TTT (later 3T) — Tecnologia del Tubo Torino.

Looking at the homepage of Colnago classic bicycles, only the lugged carbon frame C64 and the lugged steel frames are currently 'made in Italy', all other carbon bikes and frames are imported from somewhere else. Wilier, another Iconic Italian manufacturer produces also only the steel frames in the country...

I very much admire the technique, looks, and finish of the custom steel frames made by the Italian company Battaglin. While the before-mentioned Colnago and Wilier produce more or less the same steel frame for many years, Officina Battaglin constantly seems to develop and is not afraid to adopt the latest technologies into their traditional steel frames. Oversized Mega Lugs and Tubes, tapered head tubes, carbon forks, one-piece stem/handlebar carbon combinations, 'invisible' cable routing, etc. can all be found in these creations.

Battaglin Portofino

Guys like these manufacturers do not only see the bike industry as a business model but started their companies with 'heart and soul' or Italian 'passione' for this sport. Some of them started as racers by themselves and therefore had a natural connection to the teams and their riders. The over 200 hours invested by Ernesto Colnago and his brother Paolo into the world hour record bike of Eddy Merckx's in Mexico City (1972) are a legendary example of the passion for the constant development and improvement of today's seemingly 'simple' bike steel frame design.

My very own project would be, of course, less ambitious. I did not plan not to build a nervous racer chasing records but a more comfortable Gran Fondo or a long-distance bike with a longer wheelbase and some Italian parts.

Unfortunately, Campagnolo's prices and special tools are out of my reach, so I would settle for reliable and nicely shiny black painted Japanese Shimano 105 R7000 for shifting, braking and the drivetrain for this bike.


In my next part, I am writing more about my build, its frame, and all the parts necessary to complete every bicycle. It would be great if you could join me on my trip...


Ciao, Gerhard


#Reysnolds853 #carbon #3TARXIIPRO #3TTornova #VELOWRAPGEL #CampagnoloKhamsinG3 #CONTINENTAL GP5000 #PrologoKappaEvoPas

92 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scandium 'Fastrax' Race Bike Build (3)

Continued from the 2nd part of the build Reality Check For the complete build, I spent around ~US$ 895.00; the race-ready bike (incl. two bottle cages and clipless pedals) weighed in at a reasonable 8

bottom of page