top of page

Panaracer Race A & L Evo 3 Road Bicycle Tire Long Term Review

Updated: May 26, 2023

This review of my Panacarer Race A & L Evo 4 road bike tire is a follow-up of my first road tires, the Continental Ultra Sport II tires. After reviewing my somehow disappointing experience with my Continental Ultra Sport II tires, I was looking for a better replacement. During the search, I came to Panaracer tires, a name which I've never heard of. According to the homepage they are made in Japan, for me an indication of quality.

Overview of the Panaracer Race A & Race L Evo 3, foldable tire, 700x25c

According to the homepage, Panaracer makes three different Evo 3 foldable tubed tires

- Race D Evo 3, 250g/tire

- Race A Evo 3, 240g/tire

- Race L Evo 3, 240g/tire

all based on my tire size 700x25c.


- Construction

All three different Evo3 tires are made of the same material and constructed the same way. The difference results from the use of the 'ProTite Belt', Panaracer's name of their puncture protection. With fewer protections, the tire weights less, the 'D' offers the highest protection and is the heaviest.

Due to availability, I bought two different tires, the Race A on the heavier rear and the Race L on the lighter front. Both tires performed so similarly that I've tested them together.

Review of the Panaracer Race A & Race L Evo 3, foldable tire, 700x25c


Price

They were around 50% pricier than my previous Continental Ultra Sport II tires @ NT$799/€20.05/US$22.75 per tire.


Montage

More difficult than expected, I had to use all three (!) tire levers to push the tires over the rim. But the tire fell in its proper place in an instant, neither pushing nor squeezing to find the right fit. There is no direction indicator on the tire. I always ride the tires around the suggested 10 bars as written on the tire wall.


Ride Quality

In both dry and wet conditions the ride quality was flawless! I never slipped on a wet surface even during a hard rain; neither on the road, on-road marking nor on manhole covers. They ran smoother than the Continentals and were very stable at high speed. These tires gave me a lot of confidence; I cornered much faster & rode in a more aero position than on my previous tires. But don't tell my wife.


Wear & Puncture Protection

I had only one puncture during the 3.500 km lifetime (on the rear). Which is, for Taiwanese roads, an outstanding achievement. By replacing the inner tube I had to use the same three (!) tire levers when I mounted the tires for the first time. A tight fight indicates the quality of the tire.

After the inner webbing could be seen from the outside (see picture) I've decided to replace them. I did not stick with new Panaracers but, unfortunately, followed the hype surrounding the disappointing Vittoria Corsa G+ tires (see my review @ https://gerhardwanninger.wixsite.com/mysite/post/vittoria-corsa-g-folding-tire-1st-generation-experience).

The wear of the Panaracers was o.k. But near the end of their lifetime, the grip felt a little 'soapy'. This was not dangerous but during faster downhill rides clearly noticeable.

 

Origin

My Panaracer tires have been made in Japan as mentioned on the tire wall and on the homepage of the manufacturer. "The company was founded in 1952 to manufacture bicycle tires & tubes in Osaka...It is very important for Panaracer to develop, make samples, test, and produce in the same place. Panaracer knows it is very expensive to produce in Japan but making cheap products is not our goal".

Verdict

I rode the Panaracer A and Panaracer L for only around 3.500 km on different surfaces, roads, and weather conditions. They felt great and gave me a lot of confidence. The cornering speed improved, and I discovered myself riding more aggressively (again, don't tell my wife!). The mounting was hard but had not to be performed too often due to its good protection. The wear was noticeable, as seen in the pictures.

Conclusion

Panasonic EVO3s are great tires and offer great performance and high quality at a reasonable price. I would definitely buy them again.


UPDATE (2020/10/22):

I rode my bike with a folding Panaracer Race L Evo 3 at around 40km/hours when this front tire busted with a loud sound! Fortunately, my alloy rims were protected by the flat tire and I could bring my racing bike to a safe halt.

Once I've had a rear tube exploding, but for me, it was obvious to check the outer tire first. To my surprise, I noticed that the tire was busted right in the middle! I always carry 3 spare tubes but due to the lack of a new (outer) tire, there was no way to continue the ride.

Panaracer EVO3 L folding 700x25C, busted at around 40km/h!

I've walked around 40 minutes in light rain to a nearby dealer but due to Coronavirus Continental had back-order problems in Taiwan. So I bought a 700 x 23C Grand Prix 5000 which carried me home safely.

I am approaching my 60s, I've never (!) had a blown bike tire, neither on my front nor on the rear. I don't know if it was my carelessness or the manufacturing problem. But as a result, I am staying away from any other tire than Continental GP5000 or any other 'handmade in Germany' product from the same manufacturer!


Advice

Each tire has a different characteristic like every rider is different in nature. Bicycle tries are an important piece of safety, nothing else connects us cyclists with the road. 

1. After mounting the tires they should be checked regularly visually for defects. In case of doubts, a local bike professional should be consulted.

2. The tire pressure should be checked regularly, I check them before every ride. Manufacturer print the recommended air pressure on the tire wall. Inner tubes might lose some air over time but too low pressure within a short time might be an indication of a defective inner tube.


A Word of Caution

Always ride with a helmet and in a way that you are in control of the bike, not the other way around. Ride responsibly, defensively, and safe! It is senseless to gain some seconds but spend weeks recovering in a hospital and/or at home! You, your body, your parents, your family, and your friends will surely appreciate your precautions during a bike ride.



I've owned these tires, mounted, and rode them by myself. I paid for the saddle; I am n o t endorsed by anyone. Subscribers or followers are more than welcome!. Ride carefully, Gerhard


39 views4 comments
bottom of page