top of page

Training Ride

Updated: Jul 13, 2022



Background


Once I've met a Taiwanese riding a white Italian Colnago bike. While I repaired my front puncture, we had a very 'interesting' communication. He explained me, that he stores his bike in the living room to 'show his friends'; he rides only Saturday mornings with his group when the weather 'is fine'. For me, as a 'daily' biker, I don't store my bike in a prominent place to be shown around; it is meant to be ridden, it is a tool for the road. My bike is a sports equipment on which I lost 40 kg of weight; bicycles are meant to meet other people, travel, explore, and to camp.

When I was in my teens, I was a natural climber; tall but skinny. I enjoyed standing on my pedals in low gears, cycling 'around' other people fighting to get up a hill. In my later years, I developed more into a grinder, pushing higher gears on flats and sitting on climbs.

Every cyclist has his or her strengths and weaknesses; unfortunately many do not see the need to address and work on their problems or weaknesses. I never had a lot of patience on flats, did not see the need to push for high gears. I looked for many excuses not challenging myself, like changing unnecessary gears, drinking water, or even eating.


Preparation


My lackluster attitude towards my own training changed after I indeed signed up for my first triathlon challenge. Every attendee had to pay a fee, joined the swim, cycling and running competition. I prepared the four weeks leading up to the race more seriously, but I've paid the price for not being prepared mentally and physically enough, for not working on my weaknesses but 'overplaying' them with unnecessary and ill-timed food or drink intakes. After the challenge, I compared my time with others and found, that there was more to be learned, changed and I had to improve on my equipment and, above all, upon myself.

For my body and soul, I've prepared 2 extra bottles and bought a tube bag for nutrition. For my equipment, I purchased two handlebar bags for my phone, wallet, and additional personal items bought a seat bag only for my inner tubes and multi-tool.

But most importantly I had to learn how to ride better or more efficiently and persistently; to be more of a marathon runner than a sprinter on my bike. It is indeed possible to learn how to climb uphill, descent downhill; how to push on flats and corner better. The best way is to ride, ride and ride whenever and wherever you can, you have to work on yourself..


Training Goals


Before I start my training rides I try to be clear about my goal/s. I can mix my rides depending on weather and terrain, but the core should never get out of focus. When I am weak uphill, I try to include more climbs; when I don't have the power to push on flats, I try to work on it by including more flat roads. I am fortunate to live in hilly Taiwan, where 1,000 meters high mountains constitute about 31 percent of the island's land area! It is indeed more difficult to find flat roads than hills.


Flat Roads


I have two road bikes, one crankset has 50/34 front chainrings, while the other has 52/36. Each has its character which I mention below:

- Gearing

Pros use 53 teethed cranksets for speed on flats. I am not a pro but I have good experiences with my 52 front chainring.

- Cadence

Lower teeth on the crankset mean a higher cadence on the flat to compensate for the same speed as a larger chainring. The result is a more tiring effort for the same speed on a flat road.

- Endurance

You have to learn to be more persistent on flats, try not to 'burn' yourself for a short-term result but rather keep a consistent, steady high power output over a longer period. Try to focus (!) on the road and your training purpose rather than be distracted by your body (stomach), mind (e. g. phone), and/or environment. Stay focused!


Hilly Roads


There is much information about how to climb, so I only want to touch on some basics.

- Gearing

For serious climbs, I would opt for my bike with a 50/34 crankset and 11-32 rear cassette. All gears are lower (than my 52/36 crankset), the 'curse' of a lower gear on flats or downhill is a 'blessing' uphill. A gravel bike has even lower gears, my older Mountain bike had a 22/36 setup, which means more than 50% lower (lighter) gear than my current road bike.

- Cadence

Is not too important for climbs. It is more important to choose the 'right' gear: not too slow and not too hard and endurance! I try not to exhaust myself to a point where I have to stop to 'catch' a breath. I rather take it slower, take a rest while I am still pedaling. Sounds strange, but bike riders can take a rest while pedaling.

- Endurance

Some climbers sit while others stand and even dance on their pedals. I've learned that sitting is more efficient on climbs even if your feeling tempts you to believe differently. Grinding uphill takes training and patience while standing on pedals helps you to accelerate, in tight corners and peculiar situations.


Training Ride

The purpose of a training ride is to work on weaknesses, to get stronger as an overall rider. Keep in mind that everyone is different and this particular shows in group rides. Do not be discouraged but see deficits or weaknesses on a bike as a challenge. No one is a born world champion or a Tour de France winner but persistence, open ears and eyes, and, most of all, training, training, and only training can bring you where you want to be.


Riding Buddies

We unfortunately all know, that there are many alpha males among us cyclists who want to show ordinary riders 'how it is done'. Like a dominant wolf, they instinctively capture the leading role in a bike group; they not only show this in their latest, money-no-objective equipment but, very obviously, in their aggressive behavior on the road toward others including their own team mates. This goes so far that they not only bully others but are so dominant, that riders within the cycling group are rather holding back than exploiting their own full potential. You have to ask yourself, what kind of group you are looking for; if you want to ride for the glory of an egomaniac or improve yourself.

Over the years, I've met many cyclists who fit this 'alpha male' description very well. Some nearly pushed me off the road, brought me in 'dangerous' situations on public roads, 'accidentally' forgot me or met in a different place than we initially agreed upon. I tried to find groups, from triathlon to road cycling, training teams, from young adults to older citizens. But for different reasons it did not work out...

Maybe I am a lonesome wolf, but I enjoy my solitary bike-tours very much, can tinker on whatever I want, can choose my own challenges and can rest whenever or wherever I want. And, I can enjoy even the hardest climbs without group pressure.


Training Ride

I am almost 60 years old, and in this age I can not seriously compete with much younger riders on better (or more expensive) bikes. But I can use my experiences to try hard, to accept a good fight and can be quite competitive on my bike. But, if I would not have basic bike skills and give up easily, I could only be an old couch potato watching the Tour de France on TV until I fall asleep before the bike race is even finished.


Ride carefully, Gerhard

19 views0 comments
bottom of page