top of page

Riding a bicycle at an advanced age (2) - some experiences - 2

Updated: Jul 4, 2023


How to start riding?


In my case, I rode bicycles for quite some years into my teenage years and stopped for many, many years. Going back into the saddle was a 'natural' thing - the Germans use the phrase "Radfahren verlernt man nie" or 'you never forget how to ride a bicycle".

If you are completely new to riding, I would give three tips: practice, practice, practice. It could be on an empty parking lot, on quiet roads in the neighborhood, after school in schoolyards, or any other big-enough space. I taught a junior high school student during a 5-minute break between two bicycle repair lessons how to ride a bike. As long as a biker knows how to keep the balance and use the two independent brakes to come to a stop, there is nothing to fear! Of course, it takes longer than 5 minutes to learn but basically riding a bicycle is neither complicated nor frightening with the right trainer and a rider willing to learn.

As a beginner, advanced, or returnee, the most basic advice is to practice - meaning to ride, ride, ride. If it is to the supermarket, to the company, to a picnic, or to meet people, I don't use anything else than a bicycle. With practice comes the security on a bike - nothing to fear or to panic. At every age, encouragement is very important, either from family or friends. Especially beginner feels safe in a group with reasonable and understanding people - critiques or jokers excluded. Too ambitious parents can cause children to dislike and even hate riding a bike - the same goes for the elderly.

As a 'new' elder starter, there is no reason to think about records or to be over-ambitious, it is all about safety and confidence.

Long time before the invention of the Gravel Bike - on road tires!

Safety


Every bicycle ride begins and starts with the rider, the biker's attitude, and decisions. The cyclist decides about his or her own safety, the way he or she behaves and rides, and decides when to speed up, slow down, brake, or even overtake others. Cyclists decide if they want to obey traffic rules, let others first, and how communicate with other road users. I decide to ride defensively, don't mind warning, and apologize to others. All these decisions determine if the ride is safe and fun or becomes a rude awakening in a hospital bed.

We cyclists share the road with other vehicles but also with other humans and animals. Every creature can be a source of accidents. Children, grown-ups, or elderly people are not only moving around on foot but also driving or riding different vehicles. Even the cutest free-running dog can force us to brake or run into others when trying to avoid mishaps.


- I watch out for children, slow down, and put my hands on the brake hood for a potential emergency stop. The same goes for parents, adults, and the elderly - in short: I watch out for others! I am more concerned about avoiding accidents than attempting any record on crowded paths or roads. I have a loud rear wheel which helps to get noticed in parks or on shared pedestrian-bike lanes when I just let the wheel roll. I definitely don't shout "I am coming!", rather slow down and wait.

Let me fly...

- I stop at every traffic light and traffic sign, however familiar the road might be - they are there for a reason.

In Taiwan, there are constantly red-light runners, drivers changing lanes suddenly, stopping in the wrong lane, etc. Even high-end bikers have the habit to chat while purposely running over red lights. They see this as a heroic act - I think it is stupidity and just plain arrogance!


- I try to ride 'in sight', so I can see into the road and what's going on in front of me.

1. When a car stops in front of you beside the road it is very possible that the driver's door will be opened within a few seconds.

2. When every vehicle wants to turn into your lane, you can notice it from the movement of the front wheel - it indicates the direction where the car goes. It does not matter if it runs straight or wants to turn left or right, you can anticipate it from the front wheels. I often brake and let others go first because I understand that a bike rider is the most vulnerable part of the traffic community.

3. When you keep a distance from people, animals, and vehicles, you and the others have time to react. This is also valid for bike group rides - focus on the rider in front of you, keep your distance, and possibly ride beside, not behind, the rear wheel of the front man or woman. Everyone is happy when nothing happens...

4. Don't listen to music or any other distractions but focus rather on the road, the environment, and your bike. Motor vehicles, except the electric-powered ones, can be heard and the rider can react or adjust to approaching road users - impossible with a headphone with or without music.

I often listen to my bike - unusual sounds indicate possible problems - easier to be addressed when they are discovered earlier. Once I heard an unfamiliar clicking sound around my front wheel. Around 70 km from home I stopped beside the road and noticed a wire tangled in my front hub scratching my carbon fork with every revolution of the wheel. I immediately entangled my front hub and thanks to my ears the wire avoided further damage.

Somebody's watching me!

(to be continued)


Keep riding, Gerhard - safe!

28 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page