top of page

Riding in the Rain (2)

Rider

b. waterproof trousers or pants


I bought some rain pants for my travels in Belgium in case of some wet days. I rarely used them, because, as the saying goes, 'if angels travel, there will be sunny days'.

I stuff these same pants during longer rides as part of the luggage. The pants are packable in their own pocket on one side of the tights and don't take up much space. I stop under some roofings beside the road. They are wide enough to be pulled over my cycling shoes and cycling shorts.

My pants have

- only a single layer

- been cheap and versatile

- reflective pints for safety

Before going out for a ride I check the weather forecast but for peace of mind, I still take my rain jacket and pants with me.

c. overshoes


There are many different cycling overshoes out there, the material ranges from neoprene to simple plastic material. While neoprene, developed for diving suits, is a heavier material, it helps in cooler regions to keep the feet warm. I wear overshoes under my rain pants. This way, the water does not go into the overshoes.

Overshoes not only protect from rain and dirt but are great with clipless pedals - you don't move the shoes around.


d. gloves


I don't wear gloves during rain, soaked with water they become uncomfortable. I can't use them wet for wiping my sweat or water off my spectacles. I found my wet fingers work much better - humans are great designed.


e. helmet

Some put a shower cap over their helmet but I think this looks just ridiculous. I sweat a lot, and to protect my face and spectacles I wear a cycling cap or a buff under my helmet. When wet, both only drop some water on my face or neck.


All the above equipment concerning the rider's comfort during the rain is based on my own experiences on longer tours or travel over some days. I consider rides within a rough 100 km radius not as a long distance and would rather consult the weather report than load up 'special' rain gear. But, of course, you could use

- rain jacket as protection against the wind or sudden cold

- rain pants as a cushion while sitting on a hard surface while drinking a cup of coffee

- buff as a neck protection during cooler weather


The next part is about the bike 'preparing' for the rain.


(to be continued)



10 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page