top of page

Riding in the Rain (1)

Updated: Sep 5, 2023

Many people already realized that the summer is over - however sad it might sound. Gone are the days of sunshine at the beach, the summer holidays have come to an end and only memories of a carefree time, full of fun and excitement remain in the mind, photos, and maybe even some movies.

Born and raised in central Europe I really had once tears in my eyes returning from a sunny summer holiday back to school. The same day I had a fight with a classmate which I won but still felt bad about it all happening...

This year, the summer weather in Taiwan was kind of strange, we had several weeks of heat at around 40°C Celsius, with draughts throughout the country. Two weeks ago, we had two Typhoons following each other, currently, there are three (!) Typhoons around this beautiful island, giving us much hard and heavy rain. This means that all water reservoirs are full at nearly 100% capacity, some had to open gates to release water pressure.

Yesterday I tried to ride my bike through some torrential heavy rain, followed by sudden sunshine. While I was happy about my waterproof rain jacket, I thought sharing my experiences in the rain might be a good idea.

The following suggestions are made with a mild climate in mind, currently, we still have over 30°C in Taiwan. While serving the German army we had once -20°C while making a one-week drill; the cold let not only the nose 'cool off' but the clothes dry much slower, a cold is the result while serving in wet or damp clothes.


When riding through the rain on purpose, I prepare myself and my bike for facing the storm - but this is also valid for a shower or long-term rain on a tour. In my opinion, a bike and a rider are two different subjects for riding in the rain, one makes you feel safer, the other one more comfortable.


Rider

a. Rain Jacket

Some weeks ago I bought a good rain jacket for sale. This piece was designed in Sweden, a country in Northern Europe with breathtaking sceneries but also much rain. Many jackets claim to be waterproof, but not only the fabric but more importantly the manufacturing details make the difference.

- fabric:

Manufacturers specify how waterproof the fabric is, take a look at the description of the products. Mine has a rubber coating on the inside which makes it even 'water tighter' than an un-coated fabric.

layers:

More expensive rain jackets have different layers - breathable membranes are sandwiched between two layers. The material is more expensive, is more time-consuming to produce, and justifies the higher price. My simple rain jacket is without layers, during warmer weather I would sweat even during rain. In colder seasons it does not matter too much, it keeps me warm.

- seams:

As important as the fabric are the seams which should be sealed with taped seams or tapes covering the seams from the inside to prevent the rain from entering through the seams - no matter how waterproof your fabric might be.

- reflective:

Rain brings poor sight not only for the bike rider but also for other users sharing the same road like car drivers and motorcyclists. I generally turn on my rear light in 'flashlight' mode, I prefer some additional reflective abilities on my rain jacket. To see and be seen is the key!

cutting:

When you ride often, it is worth to buy a cycling-specific jacket. Mine is

- cut wider with space for additional clothing or simply room to breathe

- has only one single fabric and is not layered.

- has an inner coated layer

- longer on the back to cover the rear while leaning over the handlebar.

weight:

Higher quality rain jackets are light and can be stored small in their own pocket. I can store my jacket in the bag of my bike and be ready for some heavenly surprises...

pockets:

I don't like rear pockets on my rain jacket, even empty ones make it more bulky than necessary. I put stuff in the rear pockets of my shirt, covered by a 100% water-tight rain jacket.

My Rain Jacket

Inexperienced, I thought all rain jackets were created equal, but I found out differently. There are different shapes and materials or fabrics, and the cutting can vary depending on models even from the same manufacturer. Trying out different models in the dry room of a shop can help to find the 'right' jacket for you. Mine was specifically designed for a race bike, the shape and material fit nicely to my riding position.

There are general rain jackets out there that could be used on a city bike. But the lower position on a road race bike is different and it is worthwhile to look for a proper rain jacket, especially on longer rides. I bought mine for ~USD28.00 on sale. It is worth checking out your local sports- or bike shop, there are often good deals on close-outs or end-of-season sales.


(to be continued)

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page