top of page

Vittoria Zip Case - Italian Flag

Before purchasing a new tire, I thought it would be good to prepare and clean up my own bike 'emergency kit' which could help me to go through 'dire' times and situations on my bike. While I never had a failure on my shifting, bike chain etc. I am constantly challenged to repair my tires due to flats.

I don't blame it on the tire or tube manufacturers but the road conditions in Taiwan are, frankly spoken a nightmare. Potholes are quite frequently, patched up asphalt to 'fix' the road, 'opened' asphalt signalizing landslides, debris from trucks etc. contribute to my permanent tire problem. Servicing roads is a foreign word in Taiwan...

My Emergency Kit

When I had a cut through the tire and the inner tube I stopped beside the road. I have a rolled waterproof bag on my handlebar in which I throw everything inside: my 'emergency kit' and all the other necessities like my key, phone, wallet etc. Upon need, I had to unroll the opening and go through all the stuff and even have to take things out sometimes only to find what I need. Not very convenient.

My personal 'emergency kit' contains everything I need in case of a puncture:

- two inner tubes

- two tire levers

- one glue patch kit with one rubber solution

- one multi-tool with included chain splitter.

No biker likes to be stranded somewhere besides the road and depend on the help of others. So I take this kit with me wherever I ride.

Before I have seen cases shaped like water bottles that could be placed into a bottle cage, in the rear pockets of my cycling jersey and, because of its compact size, could be stored it in other bags. There are some Chinese copies on the market but I thought I could give this Vittoria Zip Case a try.

Two large compartments

So I rode into my favourite bike shop and bought the new tire together with the case from the same manufacturer. I purchased it empty, the case is enclosed by a zipper in the colours of the Italian flag - hence its name. The Zip Case opens conveniently half and has two identical sized inner compartments with an elastic net halfway to keep things tidy. Back home I packed my loose emergency kit in it and found that it looked tidy indeed.


Specifications:

- Size: 18 cm (height) x 8 cm (diameter)

- Material: Vittoria specifies 'long-lasting material', I suspect it is PE as the main material

- Colour: Outer black with nice printed 'fading' white graphics, the zipper is in colours of the Italian flag.

Conclusion:

I like this Vittoria Zip Case very much and should make my 'job' as a bike mechanic besides the road much easier. In case of an 'emergency', I am well organized and prepared'. I open the case and put it on somewhere steady and take out the things I need. But I also use it (opened) as a storage for small parts like washers, valve caps and my valve adapters. All parts are in one place and I neither have to look nor would forget anything.

I doubt that this case is waterproofed, the water would penetrate through the zipper. But it looks nice on my bike and who would argue with beauty?

A Word of Caution

Always ride with a helmet and in a way that you are in control of the bike and not the other way around. It is senseless to gain some seconds but spends weeks to recover in a hospital and at home! Ride responsible, defensively and safe; I am sure your body, parents, family and friends will appreciate your precautions during a bike ride.



Enjoy your ride, Gerhard


I  own the Vittoria Zip Case, equipped and use it personally. I paid for the case, I am not endorsed by anyone. Subscribers and/or followers are more than welcome!


disclaimer: all technical details are based on Vittoria's own homepage, otherwise specified! 

7 views0 comments
bottom of page